Sep 16, Moberly, Mo, Trip’s End

Made it 54 miles into Moberly about noon where, fortunately, I was able to
get into our motel room. It started raining about an hour out and I was really wet and cold. Hot shower fixed that and Sandy arrived about four. She has family in this part of Mo. and as of yesterday a new great nephew named Ross Baker. As I put the metal pony in the car this evening the odometer read 2,513 miles – great bike. I’d have to do a couple hundred more to complete the Lewis and Clark Trail and most of that would be on the Katy Railtrail. I’m going to save the Katy for another vacation. So, tomorrow we start visiting relatives between here and Southern Illinois. This ride has been a great experience. I’ve ridden every day since Aug. 9th, and virtually all of those days I had sunshine. I’ve really appreciated hearing from friends and family through this blog…thank you all. Thanks again to Bill DeLoache for joining in Montana and helping me past the oil boom in N. Dakota. We saw some great scenery. Tomorrow I rejoin the driving world where everything zips by at 65 mph. The uphills will be easy, but I’ll miss the sights, sounds, smells, etc. Bad weather for pics today so I thought I’d rerun a sunny shot from the Great Falls of the mighty Missouri River.

20110916-062736.jpg

13 Comments on “Sep 16, Moberly, Mo, Trip’s End”

  1. Alice says:

    Jim,
    Congratulations on completing your trip!
    What an amazing accomplishment!
    Alice

  2. Kathy G. says:

    How exciting to finish your trip! Congratulations!
    Kathy

  3. Steve says:

    I for one will miss seing your daily post. What a great adventure you’ve had, and I’ll look forward to hearing about it in Salem!

    See you soon.

  4. Antonia says:

    We’re all losing a great blog experience but we’re gaining our yoga guru again! A thinner, fitter, smiling, fuller guru. What an infectious trip. Thank you for sharing it with us. See you all soon.

  5. Keith says:

    Great job Jim. Thank you for sharing your trip with us! You made us desire more by keeping your comments brief, but detailed. I personally really enjoyed following you ~ I’ll miss not having something neat to read at work.

    Welcome Home.

  6. Karen Mader says:

    Job well done! We have really enjoyed reading your blog.

    Francine says “I love you!”

  7. Beth says:

    Congrats! Ride well-ridden, ending well-deserved. Great picture, too. So glad you had this experience and shared it with us!

  8. Dick and Ann says:

    Wow!!

    What a feat! Congratulations on quite an accomplishment and thanks for keeping us updated with the blog. See ya in PA.

  9. Debbie Feller says:

    Congratulations!! Enjoy your Family! See you Soon!

  10. Cindi & Matthew says:

    Congratulations Jim! You’ve earned an extra scoop of ice cream!

  11. Rick Nevins says:

    Congratulations Jim. I hope you enjoy the rest of your visit with family and look forward to seeing you on your return.

    We had a great day for the Three Creek Century yesterday, BTW – sunny, high in low 70’s, record turnout of about 700.

    Rick

  12. Mark says:

    Way to GO!!!

    WOW!


Leave a Reply

